Skipping a workout in favor of recovery - tri-plan low volume

Quick intro, i’m new, been doing TR for about a month and a minute and have been cycling more steadily/seriously for the past year or so.

I’m wanting to fit 3 tris in this year, 2x sprint and 1 olympic distance and i’ve gone with the low volume plans of sprint and then of oly to match somewhat the race dates, my problem lies in the run workouts on the plan. I use a smart trainer along with chest strap hrm (also have a garmin vivoactive) and have noticed that i have trouble recovering in between workouts; my resting heart rate which is usually high 50s now sits in the high 60s all the time.
I can finish the bike workouts, they do feel hard, and i’m a newb at swimming so it still wrecks my recovery but if i add the run in, i find that my leg muscles get too tired to complete the bike workouts.

My ftp has already increased (+18pts woohoo) so workouts arent getting easier, do you think my body will eventually adapt and allow me to re-add those run workouts? I’m trying to make the bike leg my strongest followed by the run and then simply be able to finish the swim which is why i’m prioritizing the bike workouts over all others.

Some thoughts:
What’s your tri/sport background? Balancing all three can be tough if you’re not used to it (or even if you are).
Eating enough?
Sleeping enough?

I find the food and the sleep make a big difference in training plan compliance (for me).

1 Like

Hey there Philippe!

Your body will adapt eventually but you also don’t want to send yourself down a path that pushes you over the edge. Listening to your body is a key part of training and how you are feeling should not be ignored. If you need an off day, take an off day. If you need to do lower intensity one day, that’s totally okay! What you don’t want to do is train and train no matter what your body says and burry yourself. This is incredibly hard to come back from.