TRAINERROAD Sprint Triathlon Plan

All,

I am new to TR and cycling with power meters and watts so the program is going to be very helpful. I just completed 2 Sprint Triathlons last summer and enjoyed them. My background is running and I understand the Jack Daniels running formula well. I decided to start this week on the Sprint Triathlon base training Mid Level Volume.

The cycling information and program is very specific to zones and watts. However, the running program is based on Perceived Exertion and is less specific than the running programs I have used in the past. Does anyone use VDOT (Daniels or McMillian) scores to determine paces for ?
Easy Runs
Threshold Runs
VO2 Max Runs
Rep Runs

If so, what Perceived Exertion numbers would you correlate to those type of efforts?
Ex. 35 minute run (PE 5) with 6 X 30 seconds (PE 9). I believe in training by feel as well but the cycling training is much more specific. I do not think there are significant training differences until Tempo and VO2 Max become more relevant.

Thanks

AWO

1 Like

Hi AWO3!

Yep.

That particular run Iā€™d probably do as an ā€˜Easyā€™ with strides. So an RPE between 2-4 depending on whether Iā€™m at the top or bottom end of the easy range.

PS - what are ā€œRep runsā€ ā€“ longer intervals?

Thank YOU! That makes sense.

R Pace is used to improve running economy and speed. It is supposed to be faster than ā€œraceā€ pace and performed with full recovery. If your 5K pace is ā€œraceā€ pace; R pace would be about 800 meter to 1600 meter pace. Runners generally keep R pace workout intervals less than 400 meters in distance. Here is a website that uses a calculator rather than the traditional charts. It is not ā€œbullet proofā€ but very sound in principle.

A VDOT value sounds very ā€œsimilarā€ to FTP and you get it by comparing a time the runner has run over a specific distance. Ex. 5K