Tips for Nutrition Adjustment in High Heat for Upcoming Race

With an upcoming 40 mile gravel race scheduled it looks dry and HOT.
How do you adjust everything - especially nutrition plan to cope with the high heat. :fire:

Could anyone share their experiences or tips on:

• Adjusting calorie intake before and during the race :doughnut:
  • Balancing electrolytes and hydration
  • Any specific foods or supplements that aid in heat tolerance

I am pretty new to racing but not long rides.

PS: You can’t say test, otherwise I would. It literally has been cool up to this point of the year and then isn’t hot until the day of the race :smiley:

How dry, how hot? Salt in the bottle (healthy pinch. Taste it–too salty sucks). Keep one pure water bottle to dump on your legs and/or into your helmet. Put ice in all bottles, even though it won’t last. Pack ice on the back of the neck to run down your back, if possible. Eat a snowcone on the start line.

3 Likes

Nylon sock filled with ice will keep you cool for a while.
My strategy:
I would not change any water/electrolite intake days before the race. You might need extra, morning of and during the race.

2 Likes

Assuming you’re aiming to finish in 3 hours or less I wouldn’t do anything dramatic with fueling before or during the race - stick to the quantities and g/hour you are used to

That said - I’d make sure I had separated my hydration from my nutrition. That is - have a bottle with only water or only electrolytes that you can consume separately from your carbs

2 Likes

Probably average humidity but full sun and 92+. The course does have some shading.

My current thinking was to hold the nutrition in place but increase the fluid intake some.

How much water would you drink on a normal day of training? Have you done the length and elevation of this same race before, or is it longer than your long rides?