The initial pedals

Cycling Motivation
Bought a bike a couple of weeks ago to spend time time with my dad. Did my first 3 hour ride and I was out for the rest of day when we got back home. Without saying I was not up to snuff. I bought a trainer a week later and just messed around a bit. I stumbled upon TrainerRoad on YouTube, so I thought I’d sign up. Finished the ramp test and my initial FTP is 93.

Origin Story
I have no cycling experience, no athletic experience except for the one month of cross country in high school, then dropped out, running was not my thing. I lift weights to so I can eat like garbage. I was in the military for 4 years, but my 3 mile runtime was 25 minutes.

Stats
*33 years young
*62 -63 inches
*142-145 lbs
*Initial FTP: 93

Equipment
*Bike: REI CO-OP CTY

Goals
*Keep up with my dad
*Build up ftp to try some events

17 Likes

Welcome - keeping up with your dad sounds like a fun goal - enjoy!

3 Likes

Great goals! Stay consistent and you will see big gains, remember to enjoy the process and have fun!

3 Likes

Halfway done with the first week. A few things I’ve notice that keep popping up. Right knee pain towards the inside of the knee. Both sit bones are in pain halfway through the workout, and initial pain in left ankle during the beginning of the workout.

I’m thinking it’s probably still due to my body acclimating to riding a bike, but just in case I scheduled a bike fit tomorrow with the local bike shop.

4 Likes

Good idea. Riding on the trainer is much more static than outdoors and some weird issues can pop up that might not otherwise.

This is pretty normal when starting out. I don’t know if you are already doing this but I would stand up every 10-15 min for 15-30 seconds to alleviate this a bit. If you have a dumb trainer I would shift up a gear or two when you do this to give you a bit more resistance to pedal against while standing.

2 Likes

Some great info shared here:

2 Likes