TB LV vs SSB LV - which to choose?

While I have tried to decode the answer through other threads, I am at a point where I need to make a decision. I have 8 weeks before my current start of SSB LV. I have been thinking of doing TB LV 1 and 2 first for something different to my legs. But I am concerned that the low volume won’t be enough to stimulate changes.

A little background: I have been racing for about 7 years, focusing on Triathlon the last 3 years. Low volume is the amount I can do with the bike and still get the run and swims in.

I am going to target one race in mid-May, with the end of the Build cycle. Then go into specialty for the race series.

What else do you need to know?

Thank you

SSB for sure. You probably won’t get training stimulus with 7 years in your legs from low volume TB.

My opinion is predicated on the fact that SSB was created for people who can only do low volume work. And as we can see there are so many books, training programs and coaches who use SSB for their amateur athletes.

2 Likes

I’m in a similar position…had been planing on TB MV starting in November and then switching to SSB MV2 in January and going form there. I know I respond very well over time to volume vs. intensity, but I also know that I need a bit more structured intensity. But I also didn’t want to burn out mentally on SS from Nov - April until we can get back outside (in Chicago).

That said, I was looking at the TB plans yesterday and my god, the monotony! Holy hell…:rofl:. Now, I usually just watch TV shows, etc this time of year when riding, so it is no big deal. But it does have me second-guessing my plan a bit…