Should I have waited?

Last Saturday I embarked on a hilly, 120 mile ride with a group that left me dropped at mile 105. I was completely cooked (I had adequate enough base mileage to confidently do this ride so I didn’t feel I was too in over my head). Not thinking too far ahead though, I had scheduled the start of my training plan the following week and started the Tuesday after this ride. I figured a couple days of rest would suffice as I wasn’t feeling too terribly fatigued by that Monday. However, 4 days into my first week of training I am wondering if I should’ve pushed out the start of training a full week to allow for more adequate recovery. As this is my first time pursuing and completing a legitimate training program I am not too sure I should be feeling the amount of fatigue I am already feeling after not even completing a full week. I have a lengthy workout today and tomorrow and I am honestly unsure I will be able to give a good enough effort for both of them. So here’s my question, particularly aimed at veterans of training plans… Is it normal to feel excessive amounts of fatigue before even finishing your first full week of training? If it is, I will grit my teeth and push through. If not, would I be better off to give myself one full week of rest and just start over? I definitely don’t want to overreach so early on… or at all for that matter!

1 Like

#1 - Are you in Adaptive Training and answering the surveys on difficulty accurately?
#2 - Did you take a ramp test or try the new AI Ftp tool?
#3 - Are you taking in enough calories on and off the bike? On the bike calories are critical to ensure you can complete workouts as intended.
#4 - The best time to start any plan is TODAY. If you are feeling tired, then use the workout alternates or turn the intensity down. If you are feeling REALLY tired, take a day off, don’t beat yourself up and come back the next day.

8 Likes