Just because I can, should I? (Fuzzy's Training thread now!)

Hi all,

Im a complete newbie to Trainer road but have ridden my bike with varying levels of intensity for years. After a year off to pursue other projects have come back to the bike and decided to give Trainer Road a go instead of Wahooo Systm + Zwift.
I am happy with the choice so far as I love the structure of a good plan.
Anyway, I started a plan last week with a ramp test and thought, at the time, that I had let myself off easily. I got 242 Watts when exactly a year ago I was as 320+.
Doing “Mono” this evening I was feeling good so I decided to add 15% for the last 2 intervals and then for the last sweetspot effort I went all threshold and did a mini ramp because I was feeling good.

The question is: Should I do this if I feel good or should I stick to the plan?

This is only ride 5 so I still have another 5 before I can get the AI adjustment for FTP where I fully expect the system to punish me for my over exuberance!

TIA for any comments

1 Like

Just change the number. If you start failing and have to turn the intensity down then change the number down. One of your goals this early on should be figuring out where the sustainable line is for efforts like this. If I can turn every workout up by 15% for a whole block then you should up the number. If you are fresh and just digging yourself an early hole, maybe just let the program do the thing.

4 Likes

I don’t think it’s a good idea to move your FTP up unless you know for sure. You’re early on in the plan so there’s no point pushing too hard too early - this is an endurance sport after all and fitness is built over time. Wait for the AI.

Alternatively, why not compare your heart rate in those intervals with the HR you had for threshold workouts at your higher FTP? If your heart rate is much lower now than it was before then you can be more confident in adjusting your FTP up.