Rest "Weeks" -- How long do you take?

What do you guys think.

After you do a good, let’s say, two weeks of hard training–let’s say for exmaple something like a training camp–you really gotta rest in order to get the most of those gains.

And we always talk about “rest weeks,” but a week is kind of arbitrary. How long do you really rest, as a rough guide? three days? Four days? Long enough to feel good plus one day?

Interested in hearing peoples’ autoregulation strategies. I have always been one who tended to not rest long enough so i might err on the side of more time resting, but that said, a week seems like longer than you’d need.

I suspect the common practice of a “week” being standard is just an artifact of conventions of training plan design plus the “cultural” 7-day week, not anything truly physiological.

1 Like

I am no expert, and don’t even play one on TV. On my recovery week, the first workout is usually a little harder than prescribed, and the last workout a little longer/harder than prescribed, but neither by too much. There are two very easy (Colloseum -3, Whorl, …) in the middle and I take an extra day off completely. The extra day off isn’t by design, but every recovery week I end up losing motivation to ride easy and find a way to weasel my way out of it.

2 Likes

I’m generally active on my recover weeks too, but i’m toying with the idea of not using a full week.

Like, there’s the adaptation/compensation curve, right? And eventually it comes back up to baseline where training will be effective again.

TrainingPeaks has “Form” (balancing acute vs. chronic CTL) but that’s really just maths–it doens’t really know what’s going on inside. Trainerroad has its rest weeks, but again, i suspect the “week” is arbitrary.

Maybe things like:

1. if HRV is back to baseline (assuming you track it),
  2. resting heart rate is back down to “normal”, and
  3. motivation is high

Then it’s time to work again?