Recommended me a TR endurance ride

Normally on a Sunday I’d try get out for a 4 hour Z2 ride. However as times are not normal I’ve started using TR and riding indoors on a dumb trainer but with a crank based PM.
I picked a medium volume SSB plan but do think a regular long steady ride pays dividends so added that to my plan each week. I’m used to 12-16hr weeks so should be ok.
As I’m new to TR (but a long time listener to the podcast), I’d welcome suggestions for endurance workouts to be done on the turbo. I’d also appreciate advice on duration. I know that 2 hrs feels a very long time and I’ve done 3 a few times in my life, but can’t imagine wanting to repeat that often. I know from experience that 2hrs of strict Z2 on the turbo feels like a proper workout akin to 3-4hrs out on the roads.

SSB medium and high volume plans’ weekly tips contain suggestions for Sunday longer rides replacement. It has roughly same TSS, duration usually 2.5-3hr.

2 Likes

Not sure this is accurate, perhaps in RPE but not in kJ. Do you have any previous power records to see what you do on a long outdoor Z2 ride?

Z2 indoor vs outdoor are closer than you might think but I might not recommend a >2hr trainer ride. Maybe try a Z2/Z3 combo ride. All depends on what your goal is by doing long Z2 rides. :+1:

2 Likes

There is another topic about how to cope with long indoor rides:

But yeah, whatever you do, outside rides will feel easier.

…disaster…:joy::joy::joy:

Couple of different progressions, depending on if you’re trying to raise your endurance pace or endurance duration.

If pace - then you can try Fletcher until you get that one locked down, then go to Brasstown and then finally Andrews

If duration, Fletcher->Gibbs->Koip->Conness->Ptarmigan. I don’t ever schedule over 3 hours on the trainer so that’s where my knowledge drops off - if you want more extend cooldown works a treat

2 Likes