Only solids on the bike during full Ironman?

I’ve been doing full IM races for the past 10 years and I’ve been very successful on the swim and bike but have always had major GI issues on the run. My nutrition on the bike has historically consisted of Ucan drink supplemented with gels and that combo has been successful while I’m on the bike but after about the first mile on the run, I begin having major GI issues to the point that I’m on the verge of puking. I’ve even experienced diarrhea on two races. I rethinking and my nutrition on the bike and wondering if anyone has ever tried having only solids with electrolyte drink on the bike. I completed a 86 mile MTB race two years ago taking in only Nature’s Bakery fig bars and electrolyte drink and had absolutely no GI issues and never bonked. But with no run following the race, I can’t decipher whether I can take that approach in a full IM. Anyone every tried only solids on a full IM? Any success stories out there from other racers that have overcome this?

This is interesting, and makes me think there is more to it than simply what you are taking in on the bike. A couple follow-up questions:

Do you train using the Ucan drink? What kind of nutrition do you take during your long training rides and brick workouts?

What is your nutrition like leading up to the race? Do you eat the same things a few days out and especially the night before as you do before big training weekends? Is your breakfast the same as it is before big workouts?