New to Trainerroad - When/where to add strength training?

Hi all, I recently got into cycling (June '20) and even move recently started a TR Plan in Nov '20. I’m currently doing a high volume plan, just finished the first base phase on Sunday. I’m now entering the deload week moving toward my first build phase.

I had been weightlifting for the past 2 years as my main form of exercise until I found cycling. Continued to lift 2-3x/week when I was just riding with no structure but now since starting a high volume plan I wanted to allow my body to adjust to the high volume before adding in/continuing a lifting program.

Does anyone have any recommendations on adding a strength training program to my structured training and also on what days I should be performing the lifting workouts?

Thanks!

2 Likes

Have you reviewed the long running threads with lots of info?

Here are some search results as well that are worth a read.
https://www.trainerroad.com/forum/search?q=strength%20training%20%23training

2 Likes

Thanks! No I have not. Appreciate it.

1 Like

I’m publishing an article on the blog tomorrow that will answer your exact question. I’ll post the link here after it’s out.

11 Likes

I’m looking forward to this. Been wanting to get back to my kettlebells but I don’t have time to do 2-a-days.

Well into my fifties and I finally figured it out with some help from a coach. Big hint - high volume cycling doesn’t need to look like TR HV SSB plan to get results :wink: unless you are in your 20s or 30s and recover like a champ.

2 Likes

The only way i can train legs is by only cycling 2 days a week. The strain of deadlifts and squats is just too much, at least 2 days after for recovery…Are you doing light lifting?

a year ago I couldn’t do body weight squats without 2-4 days of misery…

haha good to hear! I went HV because I had the time and figured what the heck! (being in my twenties with lots of time certainly doesn’t hurt)