New to TrainerRoad overload!

Hello! I’m new to training indoors and having an information overload with all the interval training information and actually picking a workout to do for a given day! I already have a training plan I’m following for an Olympic distance triathlon in August and just trying to fill in my cycling days indoors now with my smart trainer and TrainerRoad rather than ride outdoors. The problem comes when I look for a workout and there are so many to choose from and all the different categories of numbers (TSS, IF, etc.) and actually settling on a workout for the day that fits my plan. Normally my plan with be as such:

60-90 minute ride; mostly flat course; HR lvl 2 OR 75-90 minute ride; some rolling hills; HR lvl 2-3

As for the running and swimming I am able to plan my own workouts for those as I have plenty of experience planning my own workouts. Just the amount of workouts to choose from and stats and numbers that you have to filter through is overloading me a little when I open the app to actually choose a workout.

Any information for a new user to indoor interval training on how to alleviate these issues and just settle on a workout or how to pick a workout for a given day would be much appreciated!

2 Likes

I know you said you have a training plan, but would you consider looking at plan builder?
This takes the guessing out of the equation…

2 Likes

What plan are you using since you say you already have a plan?

So it sounds like you have a “general plan” for your Olympic distance training not necessarily a Trainer Road plan?

If you have an event you are training for use plan builder to set your target date. You can use the calendar feature to move prescribed workouts around your days where you have a run or swim scheduled. It literally plans out your base, build, and specialty phases around when your event is.

Don’t go in and try to find a ride for each day just let the program do it for you.

1 Like

Hi