New to TR, cannot complete the third day of my training plan

So i did a build phase even though i’m just new to TR. I considered my training for the past few months getting ready for the races as my base phase. Then lockdown comes and i decided to register to TR. And it’s just the 3rd day of my plan and i blew my way half through it. Am i over confident or i just need to rest and continue my build plan? Btw i chose general mid volume since i train for mtb cross country with a mix of road racing.

PS. Please be kind to me if this is wrong. I am just a newbie here

A few questions come to mind:

Did you do a ramp test or set FTP manually?
What workout were you doing?
How far through did you get?
How did the other workouts feel?
What trainer are you using and is it set up properly?

3 Likes

Also, what did your preparation so far look like? Did you had have some sort of structured progression and intervals? Or were you just riding a bunch and hard sometimes?

3 Likes

Do a ramp test to get your baseline and start base with that new number. Start with LV Sweet Spot.

Add in some endurance rides with “low intensity” on non plan days if you want more volume.

2 Likes

Answers after dash consecutively
-i did, but it sucks that it did not record. Luckily, i did a ramp test on zwift before i ended my membership to focus on TR first.
-I’m currently doing a MV general build plan.
-i did the ramp test first, then i completed my second training but it hurts a lot. Then the i blew my 2 hour sweet spot interval training and only finished 1 hour of it :frowning:
-i only started using TR so i only had 3 workouts, which is the ramp test, spanish needle - 3 and antelop +5 which i blew up.
-sadly, im using a manual trainer and i manually adjust my shifter to meet the target power.