New to Structured Training Big FTP Gains.... when did your's End?

When does the “Newb Gains” end? I’m 7 months into TR and true structured training. I’m know the consistent monthly bigger gains will end, but I don’t want it to be too soon!

What has been your experience when you no longer get these Newb consistent bigger gains and adding watts turn into a grind? Is it after 1 year? When you reach a percentage of your starting FTP? Once you reach 4.0 w/kg?

I had been riding and racing as a beginner for a year prior (2017) without much structure. I started TR with 193 FTP ramp test on July 11, 2018. Currently I stand at 276 FTP January 22, 2019 (actually tested at 287 but it was too high to train with). That’s a 43% increase in less than 7 months! That equates: 2.4 w/kg to 3.7 w/g or 54% w/kg increase. Those gains have taken me through race season peak (Sept 2018) into my winter base now. TR has been too good! It can’t keep going on like this or I’ll be racing Nino next XCO season.

(I know it will depend on a bunch of factors, so let just assume an average guy/gal who is doing MV plans consistently, has an average cyclist body but has 5% body weight to loose and generally has a decent diet and recovers reasonably well. They take cycling serious and race each season)

1 Like

Hard to really say… Raw Watts need to be normalized a bit to W/kg to get a better feel for it. But even then it is still highly individual.

Usually around 7 months and 2 weeks :joy:

This is sort of an impossible question to answer - it is different for everyone. My easy gains all came in about 4 months and then I started clawing for every single watt. It depends both on your limitations as well as your starting point.