Need fueling suggestions

I’ve been racing and riding for a few years now. But never fueled “properly”. This was never an issue for me but after listening to the podcast and doing some research I’ve started to try to fuel more appropriately.

Ever since I started ingesting gels and blocks on the bike I feel sick every time.

Today I had a 4 hr endurance xc race. I ran two packs of beta fuel in my bladder and plain water bottle on the bike. Laps were about 35 minutes long so I decided to pop a gel on the long gradual climb approaching the finish area, each lap. I don’t remember exactly but I think I did a gel one lap and blocks the next and alternated that way. All while sipping on my beta fuel throughout the lap. Rinsing gels and blocks with plain water.

I was sitting in second place and the legs were having a good day. About 2.5-3 hours in I start to hit a wall. Sick feeling to my stomach and really no energy. I was averaging over 13 mph for the first 4 laps but it quickly dropped to 12 for the 5&6th laps. I actually ended up pulling out of the race a lap early because I was no longer in contention and didn’t see a reason to keep torturing myself.

Is it possible that I had a sugar crash? Am I over fueling? I used to use honey stinger packets and didn’t have this issues but did use them as frequently. And I’m def still experimenting with brutal fuel.

It just seems all this sugar is having an adverse affect on my.

I would love any advice you could give!

Regard fueling suggestions, you may try rice cake, 1 per hour after the first hour.

There is a recipe I found on youtube.

On your syntomps… Srry I can’t help

2 Likes

Thanks. Just another after thought. I’m kind of thinking it wasn’t so much a crash but more so just the fact my stomach gets nauseated and I can’t continue to push on. If that makes sense.

1 Like

Try Tailwind. It’s easy on the stomach.

2 Likes