Mouth pleasure - A Mental Game

Hi all,

A quick search didn’t bring much up here. Over on the big G there are lots of results and I’ll touch of a few here but let me get my question out first:

What are some of the mind games you play with yourselves to stop eating when you want some mouth pleasure?

I try to eat well. I do go off the rails probably once a week with some beers and some less than ideal food, but on the whole it’s not that bad. I’ve been doing that for a few years, training has been not ideal and life stressful in many ways, which has something to do with why I’m stuck at around +20% BF (most of the riding around here is flat, power matters more than power to weight :slight_smile: ) although lately and in recovery from a recent surgery things are trending down again. However the bigger issue is psychological, simple mouth pleasure! Irrespective of how full I am and how much water I drink (I drink A LOT, I have a 20oz Yeti rambler at my desks at home and at work and go through that 6-8 times a day). I eat lots of whole foods, salads, chicken breast, the odd hummus wrap, that sort of stuff. And I will feel full! But I still want to eat!

Two anecdotes: yesterday I had overnight oats with blueberries for breakfast, followed by a banana, later some chicken and steamed broccoli for lunch. I felt full for the rest of the day, but ugh… I just wanted something in my mouth.

Overnight oats for brekkie again this morning, held off the banana until about 30 minutes ago. I did my morning Carter workout fasted, did my physio therapy session fasted also, had the oats around 10 and the banana at 12. I’m full, genuinely full. Not overly bloated, but not hungry. However I want to eat! :frowning:

It’s easier to deal with when in the office, but working from home due to BCP makes it more difficult. Having kids and thusly lots of temptation all around doesn’t help either.

I’m sure I’m not the only one with that “problem”. What do y’all do?

1 Like