More than 2 months and FTP Falling…What’s going on?

So, I have been using TR since 10/24 and following a low volume plan (3.5 hrs/wk). My first three ramp tests were all within 1 FTP of each other. 257-258. My latest was at 246. I’ve been following the plan religiously. My only conclusion is that the low volume plan doesn’t do anything. Realistically, life doesn’t allow me to train for 10 hours per week.

I’ve been riding for about 2 years and when outdoors I don’t follow any plan and probably tend to ride too hard with almost no lower intensity endurance days. Typically 30 mile rides around 180-210 avg watts with 230-240ish NP. Different power meter than Erg mode on the trainer, so I know none of this is apples to apples.

I didn’t accept my latest decrease in FTP. Just getting frustrated that this training plan isn’t doing anything productive for me.

Any help would be appreciated.

There are an infinite number of factors. Like weather how you slept the day before, your motivation etc.

Fwiw i did ramp test for a year and Everytime my number was going up. Then it stop the moment i added high volume and it dropped significantly. It’s been a year and it hasn’t got to the old number yet. But I stop caring. I just stop doing ramps and just go by feeling

:man_shrugging:

Quite a few threads on it if you search the forum. The ramp tests for the majority are good (repeatable, low load, etc) but for a limited number of folk (outliers) itll over or under estimate. Currently other tests (20mins test, Kolie Moore, etc) may be better but they are harder to pace and take more out of you. AT and what TR is currently talking about automatic FTP prediction are aiming to dial those outliers in.