Training Religiously and going backwards

I have been training in a structured way for several years and joined TR last November on the high volume plan. I started off at just under 3w/kg and after my first base blocks I broke through the 3w/kg barrier. Happniness so far.
Then the yoghurt hit the fan. I did the next 6 week block and ftp stayed the same. No biggie, right?
I started the first build block of 4 weeks and didn’t manage a single workout. Keeping the cadence up seems undoable. I have been reducing resistance more and more. Now I’m on the last week and reduced the VO2max by 15% and still battled! The intervals ended up being only 3w over my ftp and I could only keep the cadence up for the first minute. Then it was hanging on for dear life on erg mode to avoid grinding to a complete halt.
No idea what to expect from the next block. My suspicion is that my ftp will drop at the next ramp test, which is frustrating since I’ve been so disciplined and committed to the plan. Any advice???

1 Like

Assuming that your setup hasn’t changed and that recovery isn’t an issue I would point you towards a longer protocol to get a more realistic FTP. The ramp test isn’t for everyone. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Welcome to the forums QotN, something doesn’t seem right!

Can you post which plans and volumes please and gaps in training or additional activities, and what is your hardware setup?

My first thoughts are hardware - turn off erg mode to start with, and see what output you can maintain.

1 Like

Make sure your trainer/power meter is properly calibrated.
Also ensure very good cooling with at least 2 fans (or one heavy duty one).
I guess if you’ve been doing structured training for several years you might be getting close to your ceiling?

1 Like

How do you feel day to day?

2 Likes