Masters Base Building

Hey guys, I am new to all of this and returning from a 5 year hiatus and knee surgery. I have no plans to do any type of race for say 9 months, and was wondering the best place to begin. There is so much info now around traditional vs SSB, its hard to know where to begin. I was thinking of jumping in with 4 weeks of traditional to begin, and then switch to SSB and go from there. Ultimately hoping to increase FTP and be able to comfortably ride 100 miles. Thanks for any insight.

1 Like

Your plan sounds like a great place to start to me.

I am even thinking about a reset with TB1 Mid Vol before my SSB MV start in late November. I had some sickness followed by an injury and that has lead to more time off the bike than usual for me.

I want something a little different and easier to roll into my next season prep.

1 Like

Oversimplified (mid volume):

• TB1 is aerobic endurance workouts
  • TB2 adds long tempo workouts and a little bit of sweet spot
  • TB3 adds sweet spot and threshold

Coming off 5 months of low to no riding, I decided to do TB1 and TB2 at a minimum, and then go to SSB1.

Added an extra week to TB1. Adding two weeks to TB2, in the middle of that right now. Ask if you want details.

2 Likes

that sounds very logical, Good luck and youā€™ll be riding 100 miles in no time!!

Brendan

2 Likes

Me too. Doing TB will give you a chance to rebuild and be ready for the SSB.

I am hoping to get some TB in before starting. Got to get the calendar setup.

2 Likes

Also in the TB before SSB camp. I finish up TB1 next week, plan on TB2 and decide whether I do TB3 or jump into SSB. For TB Iā€™m doing mid volume. For SSB Iā€™ll do low volume and supplement with outdoor rides or longer indoor endurance rides.

2 Likes