LBL Sportive 2019 Advice

Hi I’m new to TR and have just completed the first 3 weeks of the General Build High Volume training plan my FTP is set at 315 (I had done another 6wk training plan previous to this). I haven’t done any long training rides in the last 2 weeks, my question is will I be in good enough shape to tackle the 275km ride or should I go for the 175km?
I was thinking of taking it easy rather than going for a good time around 200-240 watts mark for the ride.

Ta
P

Hey P! There are a few of us here doing the LBL sportive. I’m doing the 145km version and have just finished General Build. I did 99% of my training indoors through winter and have only done 4 or 5 outdoor rides (around 85-100km each) and found long rides very doable coming off indoor training with good pacing (~200w average power). You might have a bit of back/bum soreness after doing 6+ hours in the saddle if you haven’t done any long rides recently, but overall your fitness will be just fine with that pace.

Fantastic, I’m going to get out on the road for a couple of easy recovery rides this week. I think for any distance over 160km it’s going to get a bit uncomfortable. I’m going to try my best and remember to eat and drink consistently hopefully that will see me through.

1 Like

Hey @paulumbo , I’m doing the 260K version. I guess a lot depends on pacing, nutrition and hydration. If you’ve done these distances before I’d say you should be able to do the full distance. My training has been mostly inside. I’ve just finished sweetspot base I and II and am in the taper week before Saturday’s LBL challenge. The last 3 weeks have been pretty intense (> 800 TSS weeks). I combine the trainer with commuting to work (which does add a good bit of saddle time and training stress). The TR plan has made me stronger in both FTP and endurance which is vital on a day when there’s hardly a flat stretch of road.