Is there a significant gain one can get from SSB HV over LV?

Is there are significant gain one can get from SSB HV over LV?

Hi, at a general level you will see greater improvements from the increased training load that High Volume brings.

BUT

High volume plans involve a ‘lot’ of work, it is not recommended to make such a big jump in one go. You are far better of going to a medium volume plan and slowly increasing the training volume, maybe 5% per week. You may be able to cope with the extra work quite easily, but then again it may be too much…recovery is a very important part of training.

1 Like

Great advice from @Jonnyboy

1 Like

Is 30-50 watt gain possible at SSB low volume 1 and 2?

It depends on your current fitness level.
My wife startet cycling and had a gain of around 40W in 8 weeks.

Depends on where you’re starting from. I jumped 30 watts 210 - 240ftp after just SSB volume 1. However, this is my first time really training cycling so i’d say that’s expected.

Which volume she’s at?

She did the Sweet Spot Base Low Volume plan

1 Like

Its a significant increase, and it really depends on how trained you are to start with. People who are at a low level can potentially see significant early gains in the 30-50W range, but it varies based on individual.

It may not be productive to set such high standards, why not set yourself some process goals, like committing to train 2-3 times a week using trainer road and aiming to complete the set workouts at 100% intensity. at the end of SSBLV1 you will have a much better idea of how much training you can cope with and whether you want to increase the intensity.

Do you know your current watt per kg or FTP? and how would you describe your current level of fitness and experience?

2 Likes

My current FTP is low. It’s 180. I trained outside like for a year, at least three times a week though all those workouts were based on perceived effort and speed. I’m kinda new at indoor training. I’m on my third week now at LV1.