I will be on a ship with a VERY basic trainer, and no internet for 8 weeks

HI all, I’m new to TR and hope you can help me make the most of being away for 2 months. For example, I’ve read that you can DL workouts to store for later riding and I’d like to DL a whole block.

Also, I won’t have my bike, a fancy trainer, or even any sensors aside from HRM. How can I try to do what TR is telling me to do? Just go by perceived effort?

I know this is a weird request but believe it or not, there are still some places in the world where internet is mostly non-existent. :slight_smile: Thanks for the tips!

The outdoor versions of the workouts have an RPE option, i.e., warmup 10 minutes at 3, 10 minutes at 7 (or whatever). It would be tedious, but you could write them all out in a notebook and follow them.

1 Like

Use RPE and HR, but just bear in mind that HR won’t always be the same for the same effort.
Perhaps use some of your HR numbers from previous trainer efforts and use those as a gauge if you’re performing the same workouts whilst you’re away.

2 Likes

Just a few notes on when I did something similar:

• Cooling-- not enough, never enough, not even close. I ended up buying a fan from a local CVS and donating it to the hotel gym when I left-- you’d need to bring one with you (above anything, I’d do this!)
  • Lean towards doing simpler RPE workouts-- things like Kaweah/Ebbetts/Bays. Workouts where there’s distinct ‘distance’ between recovery/threshold/sprint.
  • Bikes always seem to be a limited resource at the hotel gyms I’ve been to (as in, they have a single bike and 10 treadmills) so I felt a bit of a git using one for a solid 90/120 minutes-- so limiting myself to harder efforts up to 60min helped assuage my guilt-- this also ties in with cooling-- as everyone else is jogging along with nary a bead of sweat, whereas I’m filling a swimming pool around me. Your mileage may vary on that though!
1 Like