How to extend training to 20-25 hrs pw

I am lucky enough to have close to unlimited amount of time to train.

I’ve been riding for 2 years and training seriously for about 1.5. I’ve gone from 2.7 to 5.2wpkg in this time following - ssbmv- spbmv- ssbmv- ssbmv- break for 2 months w pneumonia- ssbmv - ssbhv and for the past month I have been doing ssbmv as follows:
M: reco 1-2hrs / rest (normally rest)
T: 1hr ss wo + 2 hrs z2 if I get the chance/not too lazy
W: 1hr ss wo + 2hrs z2 as above
T: 5hrs z1/2
F: under overs
S: easy long w the wife or hike
S: 5 hrs z1 w ss wo

Anyone got any recommendations? Am I on the right track w something like this?

I think I’ll increase my ftp again at the end of this block as a lot of my workouts (w the exception of the over jnders) often completed about 5% higher.

Take up triathlon :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

5 Likes

you’re not doing a ton of high intensity so it should be pretty safe to just keep adding to the z1/2 volume, enough to make you tired, and just keep building from there.

If it were me, I know that i personally would get better quality out of the over / unders if I didn’t do 5 hours the day before. Then again, you might be in better aerobic shape than I am, but if it were me, i would swap things around so that i had something easier the day before.

Also, my guess is that an hour of sweetspot doesn’t tax you that much anymore. I would consider combining those days into one longer SS day with more time in zone, building up from an hour and gradually extending the TiZ.

Or better yet. Make the over unders Tuesday, make Wednesday the long SS day, add zone 1/2 after each of those as you’re able, and the rest of the days can be z1/2 days where you build up the volume.

1 Like

what are your training goals? do you have any events?

I’m not a coach but I have been riding ~20hr weeks (1000+ hrs every year the last 3-4 years) training and racing for road races. initial observations: