How to extend 70.3 Base training to 23 weeks?

Hi everyone,

I’m planning to participate in a 70.3 in 2021 (hopefully) and I’m about to officially start my season. I used the ATP from TrainingPeaks, which left me with a total of 23 weeks base phase, namely:

• 4 weeks Base I
  • 8 weeks Base II
  • 11 weeks Base III

I’m planning to start out with the 70.3 Base plan (High volume) which will cover the first 8 weeks. I definitely want to include power endurance training in Base II and III and based on this, I put together some possible solutions for how to proceed after the 70.3 SS BAse plan. However, I’ve come to a point where I could use some advice because I’m not that experienced with these things. So here are the options:

• 70.3 SS Base (8wk) -> Century Specialization (8wk) -> 70.3 SS Base (8wk)

• 70.3 SS Base (8wk) -> 70.3 SS Build (4wk) -> 70.3 SS Base (8wk) > 70.3 SS Build (4wk)
    This option came out of the TR plan builder

• Traditional Base (12wk) -> 70.3 SS Base (8wk)

Would love to hear some feedback or alternatives from you guys. I also hope it’s fine that I started a new thread on this. I tried to find a solution in the existing forum posts but I couldn’t find one that really answered this specific question (though a lot of related posts).

Best,
Tim

I think 23 weeks of base is a lot! If you are using TR, have you considered using the full base/build/specialty cycle?

Also, if you are running and swimming alongside, the pure cycling plans (SSB, the builds) can be a bit much. The triathlon plans take into account the competing nature of training three sports simultaneously.

That said, when I’ve had extra weeks to my event, I have done Trad base and then the base/build/specialty cycle. Trad base at LoweR volumes is mellow enough to fit in swimming and cycling too.

1 Like

Thanks for your input. 23 weeks feels definitely like a long time for me but it’s as recommended by TrainingPeaks so I didn’t question it (yet).