How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the RAMP

If I was writing clickbait for this amazing audience I’d call this; "How I added 100W in two weeks” … but I’m sure you all know there’s no such thing as a silver bullet.

Instead, I’ll tell you I’ve been a Trainer Road user for about two years and until the last week of 2018, I’d done all of 5 FTP tests in that time (just one RAMP).

I’ve now done 12 in two weeks (starting Dec. 26th), and I thought I’d share what I’ve learned along the way in the hopes it would help others. I didn’t try to crush every test, just worked my way up based on my gearing. I’m effectively “back where I started” (more on that later) in terms of raw numbers, but much better off in so many ways.

Here’s a picture of what it’s looked like;

I was really spurred on by comments in the Facebook group (thanks John.P, Alvin.R and Alex.S among many others in that thread) that hitting 19:30 would result in you testing to whatever FTP you started with initially. Thank you all so much for that information, and inspiration if effectively allowed me to tell myself I could gut out at least that time and forced me to practice my pacing.

I’ve always assumed my lack of pacing went hand in hand with an understanding of gearing ratios (gear inches) only slightly beyond basic. That’s why I decided for my new years resolution I wouldn’t shift during the test at all, not once - not ever. Maybe it’s obvious to others, though for me it sounded like a dumb idea, but it’s been anything but in terms of helping me get comfortable with the test.