Help with Planning: A Race Cancelled--What to Do?

Hi All,

I’ve posted once or twice, but have a more serious question this time. I just got word that my A Race, the Cascade Cream Puff Fritter 50, a 50-mile MTB race with 10,000 ft. of climbing, is in danger of being cancelled. I’ve been building my entire training schedule for 2019 around this race. I started with SSBMV I and II, moved into General Build MV, and am now in the second week of XC Marathon. I did about half the course on Sunday and Strava showed I set PRs on 20 of 22 segments, so making good progress.

Here’s my dilemma: there aren’t a lot of comparable races within a week or two and reasonable driving distance from my location in Oregon, USA. There’s a 60-mile epic I did in Bend, OR (Bend Fat Tire Tour with about 6000 ft of climbing over 60 miles) last year that I’d love to do again, but that’s a full two months beyond the CCP. There are also two Gran Fondos, but I’m not much of a road guy (although I’ve done a couple of centuries).

So my questions are these:

1. Should I shift gears and switch to the road century plan for specialty, knowing I can do one of the Fondos (both of which are on the same weekend as the cancelled CCP)? In this case, I’ll still be trained up for the Bend 60-miler.

2. Shift my focus to the Bend ride (not a race) and try to maintain by doing the entire XC Marathon specialty plan, followed by a few weeks of Sustained Power or General Build and the last couple of weeks of XC Marathon.

I realize that these are some serious “Cadillac problems,” but I want to put my training to good use! I’ve put in nearly six months leading up to this race and I’d like to see what I can do.

Thanks for your thoughts,

Dave