Group Workouts - instructions

I’m a triathlon coach that has been using the Group Workout feature with my athletes 3x/week for the past 2+ years since Covid. In that time, I’ve “recruited” at least 20 athletes to switch from other platforms to TrainerRoad as I can coach more effectively with TR group workouts. I can see all I need for 10 athletes at a time with power, cadence and heart rate data. Unfortunately, the only way for me to get the simple instructions for cadence variation, seated vs climbing, single-leg drills, etc is to watch the entire 60-90 min workout the night before and take notes. I don’t need all of the detailed instructions, just the critical short info. If anyone is interested, I’ve watched dozens of workouts and have Word documents with the simple instructions to pass on to athletes during the workouts. At one point, I discovered I could use Workout Creator from the TR workout library to see instructions for each block. Unfortunately, that capability has been disabled. Can we get that back or is there some other simple answer? Thanks!

1 Like

Hey @jmdaylu! Welcome to the TrainerRoad forum!

Good news, you don’t need to do this!

You can still do this! Not all Workouts have Instructional Text. The Workouts that do include Instructional Text will have black marks at the bottom of the blue graph in Workout Creator. These black marks indicate the interval in which the Instructional Text will appear.

1. Search for the Workout you are interested in, ensuring to select the “TrainerRoad” tab as opposed to the “Custom” tab.
  2. Once you have renamed the duplicate you are creating, you’ll see that there are black marks at the bottom of the blue graph that denote when the Instructional Text will appear.
  3. Click on the interval with the Instructional Text that is of interest.
  4. Click “Edit Text” in the top right corner.
  5. This will show you the Instructional Text for that specific time point.