Frustrated at plateau...looking for suggestions

No matter what I’ve done nothing seems to get me to a competitive level. I’ve been racing now for about 5-6 years. I’m always pack fodder. The closest I sniffed the podium was 5th a couple years back more due to crashes than anything else. I just can’t seem to dial in my training. Part of this is due to family obligations. The biggest part I think is due to my schedule. I work 24 hour shifts. Each week is different. Some weeks I work 48 hours. Others 96 hours or more. I also travel for work. I can’t seem to nail down a training schedule that will allow me to get better. Usually I’m just trying to fit my workouts in regardless of sleep or exhaustion level. Any suggestions?

My advice is to accept your life as a limiter and enjoy what you’re able to do. I raced while pursuing a very stressful career. I was off work for a period of time due to a non-serious medical condition that didn’t keep me from riding. My volume went up more than double and so did my fitness. Most of the time I was pack fodder, but I still enjoyed the process. Unfortunately we aren’t paid to ride.

What type of racing?

Do you do other exercises besides cycling? When you travel do you fly or drive? What type of work do you do (can you run or do even core Work?).

Is your travel to same or different areas? Wondering if you could find group rides in your travels. Or trainer it at night.

Road races, although the last couple of years I’ve been limited to crits mostly. In my down time at work I do core work (when I can). Travel mostly by car and I will try to get a ride in between days of work.

You have a life limiter. So you either have to accept this cap on your performance or change your limiter. Changing your limiter could mean finding a way to prioritize training AND still satisfy work obligations. If you travel that may mean bringing your bike, a set of travel rollers (or trainer) and getting in your workouts before the day starts.