Enve Wheels 5.6 or 7.8 Disc?

I believe @Nate_Pearson and @Jonathan have Enve wheels (5.6?). Does anyone else have experience with these? The 5.6 vs. the 7.8 are the same except the width but this is just from a general look at them.

Do they also ever go on sale and what is the practical differences between the two?

This is how ENVE positions them:

I’m a relative cycling newbie and only have experience with my Domane’s Bontrager stock vs 5.6 Disc. Have been in the Sierra and Coastal mountains on descents that previously have done around 45-50mph on the stock wheels. In crosswinds the front wheel can get a bit “nervous” or twitchy, and so with 5.6 disc in fast crosswind descents I’ve kept max speed around 35mph but I’m conservative (and promised my wife not to take chances). I’m sure others can and do go faster. Bought mine at wheelbuilder.com and upgraded to heavy duty aero spokes and at the time their price was very good compared to list. And you can buy a single wheel, so if I do more mountain events my plan is to get a 3.4 disc front wheel due to the number of days with high winds in the mountains out here. I’m currently 98kg, there is no weight limit, and I’ve only broken a spoke once. Otherwise they have stayed true for 3+ years and I ride on really crappy NorCal roads and take a lot of pothole hits.

1 Like

Enves are known for excellent crosswind handling, thus I’d go for the 7.8s.

I believe @Nate_Pearson has mentioned wanting to try 7.8s after seeing @Pete and the Clif Bar team run them.

The main drawback is weight. I think the improvement in aerodynamics is worth the penalty. Hambini, like him or not, has mentioned that there’s a general consensus among aerodynamicists that for 28mm tires, you’ll want those 70-80mm rims, and IMO, 28mm tubeless is where it’s at right now.