Customized cycle ergometer advice

Hello,

I am a research scientist in the U.K, and I’m looking to develop a customized, semi-recumbant cycle ergometer. I am looking for a system which has modes which allow cycling at both a constant work-rate and constant resistance. For example, I might want my cyclists to go from prolonged constant power output exercise, and immediately have them go into a Wingate test (i.e. constant work-rate to constant resistance).

I know that this is possible with a Velotron system, but as far as I know, these aren’t available in the U.K. Is anyone aware of any home trainer systems where this would be possible?

Many thanks in advance

What do you mean by semi recumbent?

If you go to page 35 of this document you’ll see a drawing of the ergometer: https://tspace.library.utoronto.ca/bitstream/1807/97492/1/apnm-2018-0858.pdf

In that picture, the wheel at the back is a Velotron system. The recumbent bike is built seperately, and the chain is adapted to extend from the chain wheel on the recumbent ergometer to that of the Velotron system. You can then control resistance through the Velotron system. The novelty with the bike is that the pedals can be blocked, and using force sensors, we can measure isometric force production to assess muscle fatigue in response to cycling.

What I’m after is an appropriate system (e.g. some form of more advanced home trainer) that I can attach to the recumbent ergometer, through which I can control cycling intensity.

To word this question more simply, is there a home trainer out there that has modes for fixed power output and fixed resistance?

That’s a recumbent position no semi about it. Thought you’d be referring to a saddle with a back rest or something.