Considering TR, couple of questions

Hi there,
Considering TR for my training needs going forward but since I have never tried it before, I thought I’d ask these questions to ensure it will work for me.

Is there a plan or any other single ride feature that will allow me to continuously train even if I don’t have a specific goal? I understand this is a hard one, but what if I just want to maintain weight? Or just spin the legs a couple times a week?

I have been training for long endurance events including considerable amounts of climbing with a coach but if I were to stop with the coaching services, is there a plan to cover that kind of training that will also tell me the recommended amount of outdoor riding, distances, elevation gain etc?

What if I just want to maintain fitness? Is it straightforward to choose a plan for that? Being fairly new to the sport, will I be able to look at the plans and know which one I can choose to maintain my fitness?

Thanks for the help.

There are some maintenance plans for those who are time crunched or just want to keep fit without any particular goals or race targets. That sounds like the closest fit to what you’re looking for.

If you want to target an endurance event with a lot of climbing then there are plans targeted at exactly that, including a century plan and a climbing road race plan (plus various Base and Build plans that you would do before that). You choose the plans based on your goal race(s) and training volume, then tailor or add to them as needed. You won’t see any elevation or distance goals, the training is all structured by power and time. Obviously if you’re going to be doing an event with a lot of climbing then you would want to do some of the sessions outside and on hills to replicate race day.

Edit to add : there is also a thread where you can ask for a referral code to get a one month trial of TR. OLD: TrainerRoad Referral Code, Free Trial Requests & Sharing