Is TrainerRoad Right for My Riding?

Hello,

I just started up a membership with TR although I have used this forum numerous times.

I am coming from a background of mostly “self coached” from reading books on training and Fast Talk podcasts.

I have basically simplified my training into the FT three types of rides. I do LSD rides, two interval rides (one being a weekly local race from May-September), and then a recovery ride.

I am a teacher and coach so until about April I have 1.5hrs to workout in the early morning per day and weekends.

Once summer hits I have a very loving wife who pretty much lets me ride. I would say I average 4-5hrs per day in the summer unless I am doing a specific workout or shorter MTB ride.
Until I blew out my shoulder in Sept. my goal was to get 40 centuries in this year as I had about 15 last year.

I set up a race/training calendar and looking at it it seems to be much different than what I am used to. 3x intervals per week and no longer rides. Also I was putting in TSS scores of about 500-1000 last year and probably averaging 700-800 per week. This plan has me looking at about 300 per week, which I can’t see improving my fitness that much.

So my question is am I going to see a benefit from TR and will it fit my riding style? Is it going to adapt and increase dramatically? If I change the amount of time and experience will that help?

Lastly, I felt I was pretty successful last year in my racing, but am always open to trying something new. So hence why I am here, but just don’t want to go backwards.

2 Likes

This is a pretty nuanced question which is probably why you haven’t gotten a lot of bites. Not sure I can answer whether it’s right for you, but you did trigger a number of thoughts at least.

• TR plans generally tend to tailored for more time crunched athletes, favoring intensity over LSD