Considering 0° swing cleats, what should I expect?

Since the pedal stroke has dramatically improved after I had a couple of rides with my new Lakes Cx 332, it seems to me that a carbon sole may be complimented with some 0° swings cleats to me, or at least that’s how I felt. The current 4.5° cleats felt intrusive at a time, making me shift my focus in keeping the foot steady during strokes.
But I’m also 50, although great shape and musculars legs I’m still 50, so I have to take into consideration different factors…

1 Like

Expect zero benefits and knee pain. Not worth it. You gain nothing that’s worth the offset of running 0 deg offset imho.

What pedals are you using currently? Have you considered thightening the screw of the binding? Might help the feel of being locked in. I run 6 degree spd sl and never have the impression my foot isn’t rock steady in the cleat.

15 Likes

I’m no expert but if you have to concentrate on keeping your feet from rotating then perhaps you need float in your pedals.

6 Likes

Try it and see.

I switched to zero degree cleats around 7-8 years ago and much prefer the stability (I feel) they provide. There is a very slight movement in them plus a little movement of your foot in the shoe which is more than enough for me. I started with the Shimano cleats and am now using Look cleats with Assioma pedals both with zero degree float and they have both been fine.

It goes without saying that you need to be careful in how you mount the cleat to the shoe to ensure your knees track well but unless something changes for me I’ll happily stay with zero float. FWIW I am also 50.

2 Likes