Consecutive rides and soreness

Hey, I’ve been cycling for about 3 years now and have had some steady improvements over that period. I’ve recently begun riding with a bunch a little above my standard and they seem to be able to ride significant kms on consecutive days. For instance, we did a larger bunch ride of about 85km one day and they planned a ride the next day of about 160km. There is no way i could have managed the second day, even though I seemed to be able to stick with the group’s pacing on the 85km ride. My legs just seem to be really fatigued the next day - many of the other riders are my age (40) or older, but are much more experienced. Is there anything I could be doing to improve my ability to ride on consecutive days?

Make sure you eat enough both during and after your ride. Get a good night’s sleep in between as well.

3 Likes

Good nutrition is half the game on multi days rides. Perhaps you are depleting your glycogen stores during the first ride. Then there’s nothing left for the second ride. It’s important to eat before each of the rides, to eat well during the rides, then to eat again soon after the rides complete. Before and during the rides focus on carbohydrates, then after the rides eat carbs but also protein to assist recovery from the muscle damage.

4 Likes

I don’t know what your nutrition was like but I generally echo that of the comments above. When I am training 6 days a week the amount of food that you have to eat is pretty comical.

If you have a base calorie intake of 2000, and an 85km ride will likely be in the region of 1800 to 2600 calories depending on your power output then you need to eat 4000 calories or more that day just to cover your output. A lot of which will be carbs, then you need to eat even more to prepare yourself for the 5 hours the next day.