Cherry has been Popped! Updated race results from 8/30

Hi all, I am new to trainer road. Have posted a few times on the forum and have done alot of reading. Just started cycling in 2018. Was a high level athlete back in my day, retired from motorcycle racing at an amateur level a few years back due to a growing family and found myself back on 2 wheels on the bicycle.
Literally just recieved my Wahoo Kickr yesterday and is in the box in my garage ready to party when I have time to set it up. Which means I have to purchase my Trainerroad membership this weekend :slight_smile:

So I did my first 2 criterium races 2 weeks ago. I did a Masters 40+ 3-4-5 race. Took 3rd place overall and 1st in Masters 4&5. 2 Men on the top step were Masters 3’s. They had a 2 man break that stuck during the 1st 3rd of the race. The guy leading that charge was apparently a cat 2 mountain biker that is known to be a diesel engine! Anyway I was in the back of the pack to start the race and by the time I had slowly worked my way to the front I didn’t even realize there was a break. Good reason not to be in the back. Field didn’t do anything at the time to bring them back and it was too late.
Kept myself in position and won the field sprint to take 3rd!

45 mins later I did the Cat 5 race and took the win. Didn’t know how my legs would feel, so I just sat in toward the front of the pack. Legs were a little tired starting the race but actually felt better as the race went on. No one was able to get away and again just kept myself in good position and won the field sprint again.

Needless to say it was a good start to my racing career and a ton of fun and alot learned. Having such a good 1st day means it’s only downhill from here :)))

9 Likes

Am I reading this right…you went from off the couch to podium on your first 2 bicycle races?

I am sooo doing this wrong…

6 Likes