Beginner trying to get faster during quarantine

Hello, to introduce myself, I’m a 16 year old student (74 kg, 165 ftp). I bought my first road bike in summer last year, but because of the weather and lack of time I haven’t trained much. I’ve now bought a smart trainer and, so I thought trainer road is the place to go. Now to get to the question. I currently have quite a bit of time thanks to the lockdown, so I’m really tempted to start by doing medium volume base training. But from what I’ve read, it seems like low volume may be better for beginners? What do you think? Which one of the plans will ensure the bigger fitness growth?

The more volume you can do well (and recover from) the faster you should be able to get. The key is the part in brackets though, if you jump in too high you’ll either get injured or burn out.

If I were you I’d follow the Plan Builder recommendations and select Low Volume initially, if after a few weeks you’re finding you can handle to load start by adding some extra z2 (Carter / Pettit / Baxter etc).

Good luck with the training!

Great way to use the quarantine! Definitely start with Low Volume, if you feel the need to do more then just supplement by choosing longer versions of the workouts, extending the cooldown, or adding in extra endurance rides.

At 16 and with races cancelled for the foreseeable future, one thing you certainly have on your side is time! No need to rush it, you’ll get a good boost just from following structured training plans, and you’ll learn more about how your body copes with the volume.

2 Likes

Don’t underestimate the improvements that can be made in Low Volume, I was in the same position around 8 weeks ago and went into the low volume plan and have made solid improvements all round.

In my opinion it’s easier and more beneficial to hit the low volume plan and add workouts around that when you feel good than go mid volume and not hit all the workouts.