All around rider, no race dates, which speciality phase?

I’m relatively new to training, going into my first specialty phase after completing Sweet Spot Base 1 & 2 Low Volume, followed by the General Build Low Volume, and am unsure on which speciality phase fits my needs best.

I ride road and mountain bikes 50 / 50, and do not race / have a specific date to train for. I’ve been training to stay in shape and because its fun to see fitness improve, and makes riding more fun in general.

The type of rides I generally like to do time permitting, are pushing the distance / time (for me) as opposed to getting out for a short hammerfest, however I do still like to incorporate short rides that will go hammer a climb. Road rides in the 2-5 hour range, and mountain bike rides anywhere from 1.5 - 4 aswell. I like the idea of working my training towards more adventure / epic rides, or just easier to hold a higher pace with the longer rides I do.

The two specialty phases I was looking at are the Century Road Plan, or the Cross-Country Marathon plan.

Does one make more sense than the other? Or should I be looking at a different plan alltogether? It seems like the XC plan would be good for mountain biking having more higher ftp interval work, but the Century plan would help hold higher wattages on the flats etc. while road riding. I like both aspects and know I’ll need to compromise on one side or the other. Thanks for any input.

I’m a non-racer who has followed the base-build-speciality cycle over the previous three winters. Personally, I didn’t feel that I got much out of the speciality phases and I’ve now dropped it and plan on simply repeating a base-build cycle over and over again (split up with some unstructured ‘just for fun’ outdoor riding in between repeats). This fits in with my aim of cycling to build fitness rather than aiming to peak for a particular event.

3 Likes