Adding volume to high volume plan

Hey everyone, I’m a competitive runner transitioning to cycling and seeking some advice on adding volume to my training. I started training on my bike 10 weeks ago, and I’ve been running and cycling everyday, equating to around 1500 TSS per week. This has been a very manageable training load and I now want to take that additional running TSS and translate it to cycling TSS to maximize my fitness on the bike.

Last week was my first week of only cycling, and I did 14 hours with 880 TSS. I’m on the high volume TrainerRoad plan (This is my first week on the plan. Was previously doing a tri plan but I’ve decided to focus on cycling) and the TSS seems pretty low compared to my previous training volume. What workouts can I add to get the most benefits out of my training? I’m willing to put in a lot of time if its what it takes to improve. Also, should I be increasing my workout durations, or will I get the same benefit by doubling some days? This probably doesn’t matter for determining what is best course of action, but to give an idea of my fitness, my FTP is currently 280W (4.1 W/kg).

The problem with trying to add more volume would be time.
You put more strain (and TSS) from long runs than from a long ride.

If you are looking to add volume, i would add longer rides if possible at lower intensities.
like if you do a wo in the morning, maybe do a free ride out in the afternoon, or do a “recovery” ride on the trainer.

But to get to 1500 TSS with just cycling will take a lot of biking!

1 Like

I am by no means a pro myself, but isn’t rest also important? Even if you were able to crank up tot 1500 TSS/week, wouldn’t you neglect getting enough rest to recover?