"A" race this weekend but starting a new training plan (new user)...Thoughts on how to do it

Ok quick (ha ha right) intro. I’ve been a cyclist for a good while but divorce 3 years ago took me off the bike for a couple years and resulted in a lot of weight gain. Last year I discovered my fleet of bikes again and Zwift, at the same time I bought my girlfriend a bike and she joined me on my rides. Year later I’m down ~50 lbs (currently 213 down from 262) and MUCH MUCH more fit…great. I’ve listened to the TR podcast for some time and love the info but felt that I wasn’t good enough to bother with TR. Well the raise in price got me to jump in (before it happened), girlfriend did too. So I’m just getting started.

I did a FTP test on Friday and was going to start SSB low vol 2 this week (felt low vol 1 was too little TSS)…but my “A” race is on Sunday (10/7) so I wonder if I should just push my start back to next week.

The race is a hill climb TT that’s 5 miles in length. It’s hosted by my father as a fundraiser for Habitat for Humanity so I’ve ridden it over the years to support my dad. Well last year I was 72nd out of 78 finishers and, well I’m too competitive for THAT to be ok. Last year’s official time was 41:11. A month ago I tested myself on the course and did it in 31:30, so all that weight loss and riding is paying off. I want my official time on Sunday to be under 31…beating 30 min would be awesome.

So do I do a couple of TR workouts this week? Or just start next week? My plan (as I set it up on yesterday) has me doing Ebbetts tomorrow and Kaweah on Thursday. I would go total rest on Friday and some sort of leg opener on Saturday.

Thoughts?