Velodrome for training

I have access to an indoor velodrome which I think I might try and use this winter to spice up the endless trainer sessions. They have some organized training for the track racers which I might try at some point but that is definitely not “base” type work as despite it being winter, they are in race mode. Plus I need some skill work before I jump into that circus. They do have open track time on the weekends though. Is just doing longer base type efforts a thing on the track? Anyone else out there use the track for general training, especially during base?

I started riding on the track a little this past winter, and will likely return to it this winter. It’s not really for longer base-type efforts. Do that on the road (or trainer). Most efforts are 5 min or less, with the exception of the warmup routine (here they usually do 30 laps as a group, progressively speeding up). I like riding the track for something different and fun–our track has a great vibe and super-friendly folks. If they have structured training sessions, those are a lot of fun and very helpful. Here, they will do some structured training sessions designed more for endurance than sprint, but remember than endurance on a track is stuff like 3000m, not the super-long efforts we do on the road. I find it useful for certain types of training, and it hits different systems than what I might do on the road. I am not yet comfortable to do mass-start racing on the track. I just don’t think I could ever focus on the track because I like having flexibility when I ride… with track, you have to ride when it’s available. It will DEFINITELY smooth out your pedaling, and you will never coast again. :smiley:

1 Like

yes as above - track even endruo events are still short.

For myself if i want Ks on the track, i’ll just sit behind a group and get a tow around, then do efforts when i want to. Then back into the pack for the tow. You will figure out the draft is huge when your behind someone.