Using TR to prepare for C2C

Hi first time poster here.

I have used TR for the past 3 winters, but I can’t say I have followed my plans religiously. It has been something to keep my at least a bit focussed until the weather allows me to train outside again.

I signed up to do UK Coast Coast in a day (150 miles and 4500m of ascent) which for me is a big deal. I have completed century rides before but not a 150. For my previous centuries I have just trained outdoors. However this year with Covid lockdowns etc, I have really decided to commit to TR for as long as I can. I have a very time consuming job and two young kids.

When I started training I used the Plan Builder and tried to be realistic as to how many hours I can devote per week to training and it recommended Low Volume. I am following it religiously and adding in a few sessions when I get extra time.

Question is, will that be enough to get me through to say March time and then switch to outdoor to continue my build toward the event at end of June? Should I look to increase volume now? Or is it impossible to say?

I am doing 3 sessions a week rising to 4 with additional sessions. I figure that anything I do now is better than sitting on the sofa eating pizza (define better…) and the plan helps me to be structured but it doesn’t feel like a lot.

A mate of mine is doing free rides etc on Zwift and doing ‘50 mile’ rides on there. Is that a more sensible approach given the type of ride I am building towards or is the plan I am following likely to reap equal levels of benefit?

Thanks

For context

I am 48, weigh 79kg and have an FTP of 200 (until the next test) which has improved from 170 when I started with TR in October.

3 Likes

I have used TR over several years and it has been very successful at getting me ready for long rides like the one you mentioned.

Keep the faith with TR.