Training without a plan?

Hi all!

I’ve been road cycling for a few years. Every year I aim to do a few centuries or gran fondos: Tour of Flanders, Les Trois Ballons, Amstel Gold Race,… I also do a 12 weeks training plan each year with a lot of HITT training and it helps me a lot. I have time for 6 to 7 hours of training per week.

Problem is, I’m a freelance photographer and have to travel a lot for my job. It screws up my training plan the whole time. For example, I was planning to start Michael Carmichael’s Time Crunched Cyclist training plan in February, so I would be peaking during the Amstel Gold Race in April. BUT I just got a 10 day freelance job offer away from home in March. Yay! But there goes my training plan…

This actually happens all the time. It’s impossible to complete a training plan, as I have to put in on pauze the whole time.

Does anyone have an idea on how to make this work? Can you put training plans on pauze for 10 days and pick it back up afterwards?
Or would it be better to just ditch the training plans, and just try to do 2 hard interval sessions every week and a longer endurance ride in the weekend?

Thanks for any advice!

If you’re unable to travel with your bike, doing some RPE workouts on a hotel spin bike maybe? Otherwise, I’ve felt like I can stave off the perceived fitness drop with running, or leg strength such as body weight squats can help I think.

You’re in a tough situation with frequent long interruptions like that. Having said that, you sound like your goals are more “general fitness and have fun on the bike” based. If I was you, I would just use TrainNow and loosely follow a plan for progressive TSS increases week to week and be sure to include a long weekend ride.

2 Likes