Training Plan For 200 Mile Solo Ride

200 Mile 6246 ft elevation Gravel Training plan?

Hello, I’m new to structured training I’m looking for some advice on how to train for a 214 Mile (6246 ftElevation fairly flat) Gravel ride. The ride will take me from the West coast of England all the way to the East coast (Transpennine trail full completion) I’m not entirely new to training for events/long endurance having ran my 1st Marathon last year and riden a century on a road bike I have decent base fitness.

I did an FTP test last week with the result of 261 that giving me a 3.5 W/Kg (me being 21 Years old, 6ft 1, 164lbs)

I’m looking to start training for it on March 15th and doing to ride on June 21st (Summer Solstice) giving me a total of 14 weeks to train for it, I know 14 weeks isn’t ideal but I’m hoping someone will be able to point me in the right direction of what phases to chose.

I tried TR’s custom plan builder but it doesn’t seem to factor in the lenght of my event of factor in any sort of taper for it.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

1 Like

Here are a couple of resources to consider:

3 Likes

Thank you I’ll have a look through them!

1 Like

14 weeks won’t be enough for a full Base / Build / Specialty cycle, so I’m interested to know what Plan Builder recommended for you…

How much structured bike training have you done previously? Did you do your century ride quite recently?

Other than the length (!) your route is relatively mellow compared to some of the big gravel events, so anything that extends your base fitness will help…you don’t need to worry about getting over big climbs.

1 Like

You sound like you’re already at a decent level. I would focus on nutrition & pacing for such a long ride as they can play a crucial role.

2 Likes