Training for an MS 150

Hi, I’m pretty new to TR and I’m getting ready for my first MS 150 ride from Austin to College Station! I’m faithfully following the grand fondo plan and have seen my speed improve. Any suggestions for time in the saddle outside v just on the trainer inside? I’m on the low volume plan. Will that be enough to get me through the event? I have ridden 55 miles outside at a go so far…

1 Like

Just keep spinning. The big thing would be to get some 3+ hour rides in and be comfortable on your bike.

1 Like

First, as the husband of a MS Warrior, I want to thank you for doing the ride. It means a lot to those fighting this fucking disease.

As for your training, yes, a LV plan will get you through the ride. I would recommend (as noted above) getting outside and doing some longer rides not in the plan to help augment your training. Ideally, so a few long-ish rides back-to-back, maybe 50 miles on both Sat and Sun.

Ride smart and don’t go too hard and you’ll be fine. Enjoy the rides and the people you meet.

Again, thank you. :pray:t2::pray:t2:

2 Likes

+1 on the back to back rides. The body needs to be able to shake off yesterdays ride and go again,

1 Like

Thank you!! I’m definitely already there. And I keep telling myself, “Just keep spinning.” Literally!

Thanks for your encouragement. It’s truly my pleasure to support the cause. My sister-in-law was in a nursing home from the age of 50 until she died in her early 70’s from this terrible disease.

1 Like

LOL that’s my worst fear – getting up the next day and saying “80 more miles?” Yikes! But I know I got this. Too late to turn back. Gotta face my fears!

Just keep your bum healthy. Get your saddle dialed in by getting the tilt just right. Grease your bum up.

1 Like

Just want to update you kind people that my team’s raised $1800+ to help fight this horrific disease. Thank you all for your words of wisdom and encouragement.

2 Likes