TR 'warmup' portion of workouts are killing me

So I’m about to enter week 9 of my TR plan. As I do each workout I’m finding that I absolutely despise the ‘warmup’ portion of every workout. I’ve tried extending the length in TR which doesn’t really work for me. Recently I’ve been doing 10-20min Z1/2 warmups on a Peloton before moving to my bike on a trainer. This works slightly better, but on days with sweetspot specifically… I’m crashing mid-workout and struggling to get through these. Often I find myself blowing up trying to maintain the power target, spinning 100ish rpm in 10/11th gear 3mins into a workout… I’m doing a low volume plan with 3 structured workouts a week and doing unstructured outdoor rides 2-3 other days. What is going on? Or what is the methodology behind the warmup protocols?

Some background: I’m a 45yr old masters/expert rider and not a newbie by any means. I’m a High School NICA coach and basically ride 6 days (10-15hrs) every week… which I’ve been doing for a long time. I’ve got hydration and nutrition figured out. During unstructured trail rides it has always taken me 20-30mins to ‘warmup’. On XCO race days I had previously built a structured 30min warmup that was actually similar to Pahrah, both of which work well… on race day. I just can’t see myself doing a full race warmup before every workout in my plan for the day.

1 Like

Are you blowing up during the warm-up or during the work interval? If the latter your ftp is set too high…

Edit: missed you do 2-3 outdoor rides too, you have to keep these very low intensity (z1-z2) or else you will blow up

1 Like
1 Like

I too have an issue with short warm ups. My solution is to slowly spin up to 100 over 10 minutes. Hop off the trainer, turn on the fan, pee or whatever for a min or 2 then I’m good to go with starting the workout. This does add some time but I have to “catch my second wind” as my grandfather would say.

How easy or hard are your unstructured days? How long?