TR not for "serious" amateurs?

I’ve seen a number of posts here and comments on the wider web to the effect of, “TR is great for beginners, but experienced racers self-coach or pay for a coach”. What’s driving that perception?

1 Like

I’ve been using TR and on the forum for 5 years reading nearly every post. Those feelings and comments are far and few between, not the general consensus.

26 Likes

i guess i’m one of those who’ve moved on to self-coaching. I still use TR just about everyday of the week, but i’m using a combo of my some of my own workouts and TR workouts and my own “plans”

with something like SSB, for example, I don’t find I necessarily need 4 sweet spot workouts a week, I’ve limited my “work” days to 2 and do longer z2, so I’ve been at 14-16hrs a week for a bit of time now. and I’ve built my sweet spot TTE in such a way that I could do 1x90, for example, where TR plans generally cap off at a lot of 30min intervals.

I think more advanced folks get to a point where 4 hard workouts a week and limited z2 work as a lot of TR plans are become a bit limiting. And I think effective coaches/self-coaches get to a point when they can pivot to doing a vo2 block to bust through any plateaus.

Sometimes it isn’t as simple as just doing a TR plan and subbing z2 on a day or two, which can also be an effective strategy. At this point, my plan structure is so different from what TR would provide under adaptive training that I’m just building my own progressions and structuring my weeks according to my “vision”

27 Likes

TR is a form of self-coach; I use TR + podcast + research from the web + forum to aid my training.

I would agree that a ‘serious’ amateur doesn’t blindly follow TR but combines TR with outside workouts and adapts TR prescribed workouts to suit what they are able to schedule in order to stay consistent.

9 Likes