Too soon for build phase?

As I’ve said before, I’m new to structured training, so I apologize for all the questions. Just looking for Some guidance.

I’m in week 5 of ssb mid volume 2. Next week (6) will be my easy/recovery week. I then plan to jump right into general build mid volume for 8 weeks. Followed by Olympic cross country mid volume for another 8 weeks. This has me finishing everything up in the second week or April. My first xc race is scheduled for April 19.

So my question is, do I want to be completely done my program right at the start of the season? Or am I better off finishing the build phase around the start of the season and then doing the specialty phase throughout the early parts of the season?

I’m also wondering if I do push everything back, should I redo the ramp test after the current base phase is over and then do another six weeks of ssb mid volume 2 at my new ftp?

I guess I’m afraid if I follow my current schedule and finish the specialty phase at the start of the season, then I’ll be peaking too early in the season and risk potentially burning out midway through.

Like most of us that want every race to be an A race, you really just have to decide at what point in the season you want to peak. If you’re concerned about peaking later in the year, versus your current trajectory I would recommend going back to SSB1 or 2, yes re-test, there’s little point in doing that if you haven’t seen an FTP improvement, and you’ll want to tax yourself in new (higher ftp, or different energy systems) ways. Try the Plan Builder. I didn’t love what it spit out for me but it at least will get you close.