Thigh / hip pain getting worse each workout

Hi guys. I’m new to TrainerRoad and structured cycling, currently in week 10 and about to finish SSBLV with ftp moving from 178 to 198 on first block and hopefully 220+ when I retest in just over a week.

Over the past few weeks I’ve had growing pain during workouts at the top of my right leg /
Hip. It’s getting progressively worse and exaggerates when working above ftp. Tonight was spencer + 2 and it was really sore by the end. I’m trying to identify the source and had a couple questions that I was hoping the community could help with

1. is this likely to be caused by my fit? Given it’s just one side I was thinking perhaps not?

2. I’ve had surgery on my left knee before and I know it’s not as flexible or strong. Is it possible that as I’m pushing harder that I’m over working the right hand side? Again why would this make the hip hurt of all things and not something else?

3. could it be my cleat angle? I’ve noticed that my right foot doesn’t point as straight forwards as my left but my cleats are setup straight. Should I angle the cleats to follow my natural foot alignment?

Any guidance would be much appreciated especially any links to how to do a decent bike and clear setup (I’m on mtb cleats). Hopefully I can get on top of this or I’ll be forced to take w break to recover

Thanks

Let’s get this out of the way: see someone who really knows (sports medicine, PT, etc.).

My experience, which may be entirely irrelevant to your case, is that bike fit issues cause me knee or back pain. I’ve never had ONLY hip pain due to fit. But I HAVE had hip pain due to poor hip flexion range of motion (basically, not so good at bringing my knee to my chest). It feels like a pinching sensation at the top of the pedal stroke. It is exacerbated when I’m in the drops, and can also cause my knee to flare out.

Search for “hip opener” by Kelly Starett and you’ll find his videos on assessing and addressing this. If that’s what it it.