Tendency to put in more effort on workouts

Hello,

I’m new to training and TR. I’m ~3 weeks into a base build. I consistently find myself pushing 10-15+ watts more that what the intervals are suggesting no matter what type of workout I’m prescribed. Is this normal to always want to push for more or am I screwing up my training and recovery by not following the prescribed thresholds?

Background - My FTP from my first ramp test 3 weeks ago was 147. Immediately after I finished I was disappointed and felt like I could have squeezed out another 10% at least. The week prior I had guesstimated my FTP to be 225 (looked at 1 months worth of previous unstructured ride data) and when I hit that number the last 30 seconds of the ramp test I sort of just gave up thinking “yeah this is my number, don’t wanna push to hard or training the next few weeks will be too hard”. Lo and behold thats not how the ramp test works and my resulting FTP was 147.

I was thinking I would be pooped for my hard rides by pushing so much on the easier rides but this has not been the case 3 weeks in. The volume of workouts has been fine.

Is this normal? Should I add +1 to every ride from here on out, retest my FTP now, or just wait to retest my FTP in 4 weeks as prescribed by the base build plan.

Sounds like you tested low. How do the sessions feel? Sweet spot should feel uncomfortably challenging, but not so much that you need two days off.

I would retest (it’s only 20 min and can be added as a warm up).

1 Like

Are you using a Smart or a Dumb (wheel-on) trainer?

In an ideal world, the Ramp Test should be done to failure. You stop when you can no longer turn those pedals. This will then give you an FTP that is useful for training whilst using the TR platform. From what you’re describing in your post, I would stop your current training, take a day off to freshen up and then do the Ramp Test again.