Taking TR rides outdoors

I’m new to Trainer road and in all honesty kind of new to cycling as well. Been riding outdoors for about 10-11 months. I’m a female 46yrs old, 190lbs, was pretty active before cycling, but got into it because my husband’s been riding for years now and wanted to be more like him and to lose some weight. My concern is that I just got this program last week and did the Ramp test (FTP 131 ) and a few other ones in my Wahoo smart indoor trainer, but wondering, I know for a fact that I love riding outdoors. When I do want to ride outdoors, should I take the TR scheduled program out with me, or just do my own thing that day? I do not have a power meter on my bike, just cadence & heart rate monitors. Not sure I can take them outdoors with me in this case? I started on a Base plan for now since I don’t have much experience with interval training. Any suggestions would be appreciated?

For any given workout in your calendar, you can click “outside”, the “rpe based” and it’ll give you a workout to do outside where the instructions are based on RPE. This should help take some structure outside.

1 Like

So when I click on TR for that ride to go outside, because I have seen this option, it will upload my session to Garmin HU?

I’ve just started too, and all outside. Yes, that’s how it works, but it’s via Garmin connect, so it’s down at the moment. It only syncs a few days worth in advance due to some sort of Garmin limitations apparently. It’s not always immediate either as far as I can tell from my limited experience

1 Like

Yes Garmin Connect is down for a few days now. So you mostly do your training TR rides outdoors? But you must have a Power Meter right? I do not, just a speed, cadence and heart rate. So when you do choose outside, do you do this a day in advance? Because it takes a little to send it?